Kvarner Region



The county "Primorsko Goranska", better known as the Kvarner region, is one of the areas with the oldest tradition in tourism in Croatia. The beginnings date back to the middle of the XIX century, when this area used to be a popular destination for winter holidays among the Austrian Hungarian aristocracy. This region is composed of three different, but equally attractive, parts. The first to mention is the shoreline “Primorje”, which extends from the “Liburnijska Riviera” below the “Ucka” mountains and along the coast as far as Senj. The second part are the islands consisting of the four largest Adriatic islands – Krk, Cres, Losinj and Rab. The third part is the mountain area known as "Gorski Kotar", a.k.a. “Croatian Switzerland”. The centre of the region is the former main port of the Austrian monarchy – Rijeka, which is today the economic and administrative centre of the region, richly decorated with architectural inheritances from past times, with its lively city centre, many coffee bars and several different shopping centres.




Kvarner Region

Kvarner Region




All rights reserved © 2005-2023 I.D. RIVA TOURS

This website uses cookies to give you the very best user experience. By continuing to browse the site, you agree to these cookies.
OK More Info